(A)Sexuality

It is really interesting because many-myself included-consider people who identify as asexual to be part of the LGBT community.

I have made it my goal to write for 20 minutes a day.  10 minutes on here, and 10 minutes in my private diary.  The length of each passage will be different.  It mostly depends on what I have to talk about and really just how quickly I type or in the case of my personal diary, write.  Yes, some people do still enjoy writing with a pen on paper and than hiding their dairy away, and then when they are done with that diary storing it away to pass on after they die.

I am watching a documentary on my tablet right now called (A)sexual.  I am watching it for free through my free subscription to Hoopla via Cedar Falls Public Library.  If you don’t know what Hoopla is, Google it.  Anyway, (A)sexual is about, well, people who are asexual.  People who have no sexual attraction to anyone.  It is really interesting because many-myself included-consider people who identify as asexual to be part of the LGBT community, yet when the people in this movie went to a pride parade they were either laughed at, treated with disdain, or with outright hostility.  I expect better from my LGBT community.  We all have our own labels and if we don’t want heterosexuals judging us we shouldn’t be judging our fellow LGBT.

OK so it past midnight now so it is technically Monday, but this is my Sunday entry.  Since I am still within my 10 minutes I also want to direct everyone to Ashley Mardell on YouTube.  She has some really educational videos, look particularly for; “The ABCs of LGBT” and “The ABCs of Gender”.  I really learned a lot about myself from watching these videos.  She also has one about asexuality which I can’t think of the name but watch it to educate yourself.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

