Like It Or Not, Welfare Encourages People To Work

It doesn’t make sense not to work while on welfare because you get job protections.

I am on welfare.  I get cash assistance, food stamps, and medicaid.  My housing and utilities are subsidized.  My child care is, too.  The state is even paying for my schooling.  There is a misconception that welfare discourages people from working.  This could not be further from the truth.  First of all, unless you have a really, really, really good excuse, you have to work while receiving welfare.  If you can’t find a paying job, you must do volunteer work.  They also encourage you to further your education, and will help you do so.

Second of all, it doesn’t make sense not to work while on welfare because you get job protections.  You are an automatic hire and it is very hard to fire someone on welfare.  The government will literally step in and stop someone on welfare from being fired.  So, all these misconceptions about people like me not working doesn’t even make sense.  I am actually proud to be on welfare because I know that I deserve and am working for my benefits.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

