BEING POOR AND KIDS BIRTHDAYS

Republicans created poor people and want to keep us poor. They hate us so much, they want us to die.

Today was my daughter’s sixth birthday.  I did everything I could to make her birthday great.  She is a pretty good kid and not materialistic, thank God.  I bought her what I could and of course family helped and bought her gifts also, but I wish I could have done more.  My mom had to purchase her cake, which is fine except it should have been me doing that.  This is what it is like to be poor.  I work two jobs and get government assistance with everything and I still struggle at the end of the month.  I am now back in college and I am giving plasma to help with finances.  I am hoping college will give me the leg up I need, but I also know I will always be on food stamps, medicaid, and housing help.  My cash assistance will eventually run out, but not that other stuff.  I am glad because I will always be working poor.  It is a simple fact.

I get sick of people getting down on the poor and acting like we asked for it.  No, stupid you are the ones who keep poor people down.  You make us feel like we have to work two jobs just to show you we aren’t lazy.  We work the jobs you won’t so you tell me who is fucking lazy.  It is especially bad with Republicans like Donald Trump, who seem to think poor people were put on Earth to serve him.  It is fucked up that people like him are against government assistance and job training and free college but then want to get up in arms about homeless people and abortion.  Republicans created poor people and want to keep us poor.  They hate us so much, they want us to die.  Ask all those in the states that have refused to expand Medicaid.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

