IRRITATED AND ANNOYED

TRYING TO THWART MY EFFORTS TO FINISH COLLEGE

The day started out good.  I made $20 giving plasma and did some shopping.  Then my Mom, who was supposed to babysit and give me a ride to school (I don’t drive), called and said she couldn’t make it cause the car isn’t acting right.  I had to miss school, which my instructor can’t be too happy about as I have already missed a few days and I still have worksheets to turn in.  Plus, it seems like my family is once again trying to thwart my efforts to finish college.  I had to wait until I was 24 to even start college because of Federal Student Aid rules, which won’t declare you an independent student until you are 24.  My parents refused to help me and give their financial information to FAFSA when I was 18, so I had to wait.  Not a big deal-learning is lifelong-but the fact is they have never really wanted me to go to college, despite my high IQ.  I was kind of a rebellious kid, and their thinking is that I am not college material due to this.  Then, when I was in Florida various employment, discrimination, and abuse issues caused me to drop out.  Basically, I have been trying to finish college for 16 years and am getting frustrated because it is pretty fucking obvious that no one wants me to finish.  I am determined to, but it just sucks that so many things have happened to block my path.

On a side note, it is Celebrate Children’s Books Week.

 

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

