I USED TO WANT TO BE A TEACHER

WHEN I STARTED COLLEGE, MY ORIGINAL GOAL WAS TO TEACH

When I started college, my original goal was to teach.  I love social sciences, especially history and psychology, so wanted to teach those.  Every once in a while I get the urge again, especially when my daughter has school events.  Tonight she had a music and writing presentation and being there reminded me of how much I like be around children and seeing the learning process.  Then I remembered that in this day and age of sue happy parents who simply want their children to be pushed through; in this day of standardized testing at the sacrifice of learning; and the fact that I wouldn’t be able to control my mouth around this idiocy, there is no way I could teach.  It is really sad that someone who has passion to do it can’t be a teacher because of the way education is being handled in this country, both by parents and by teachers.

We do a disservice to our children when we pass them simply so they can be with their peers.  I am having my daughter repeat kindergarten next year because she is simply not ready to move on.  Her education is more important than trying to impress the Jones’.  Too many parents worry about what other people will think.  Get the fuck over it.  Also, stop doing your child’s homework.  Stop making excuses for their bad behavior.  Teach them that learning is lifelong and that normal people do their own college applications.  Stop threatening to sue the school if your child doesn’t pass.  Babying someone doesn’t teach them responsibility, nor does it allow your child to become the productive adult they need to be.  In the end, that should be your goal.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

2 thoughts on “I USED TO WANT TO BE A TEACHER”

  1. Again I don’t agree with it. I’ve seen nothing suggesting she should be held back. She’s very well spoken for a kid her age, and I’m sure by her people skills she’ll be on the homecoming court later in life. I think holding her back only hurts her. If there are things she’s struggling with, why not summer school? But again, from being around her I haven’t noticed anything. I wouldn’t expect her to be able to perform a triple bypass at 6.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

