I FUCKED MYSELF UP

THERE IS NOTHING WORSE THAN NOT BEING ABLE TO MOVE YOUR HEAD

I don’t know how I did it, but I pulled muscles in my neck.  My neck is all in spasms.  I was supposed to have my yearly physical today, but had to skip it because it literally hurts to lay down.  Sitting is ok as long as I sit straight up.  Standing up even feels ok, but lying down for some reason is torture unless I am propped up in an almost sitting position.  I can’t lift my head to look up.  I can’t raise my arms higher than elbow level.  I can’t lift anything.  Even riding in a car is torture.

My doctor prescribed muscle relaxers and told me I couldn’t work for a couple of days and need to rest.  While I love muscle relaxers, I hate to miss work.  I admit it…activism doesn’t pay well.  I like money cause I like to, ya know, eat and have a home.  Missing two days really isn’t a big deal, but it does mean no extras.  Being poor doesn’t mean all I do is work to pay my bills.  I do like to have fun sometimes and treat myself, mainly to thrift store shopping.

The only good thing out of this is Googling funny invisible cat pictures.  Seriously, Google invisible cat funny.  The pictures are hilarious and actually are making me feel better.  Plus, it is cats.  Cats are always doing weird miming things that make it look like they are dealing with something invisible…like a window or a bike or something.  Cats are also cute and cuddly.  Those pictures are proof that laughter is the best medicine.

I hope my neck feels better soon, because this sucks.  There is nothing worse than not being able to move your head.  I have had neck and back pain before but this is the worst in a while.  It doesn’t usually send me to the doctor.  I also don’t really like that I had to put off my yearly physical.  I just want to get it over with.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

