I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION

FOOD SERVICE WORKERS OFTEN GO TO WORK SICK

I was under the impression that I couldn’t get written up at a job because I am on welfare.  Apparently job protection means protecting me from getting unjustly fired, not written up.  What is strange is that the state makes it sound like you are completely immune from any kind of discipline because they want you to work.  I guess what they meant was that I wouldn’t get in trouble with the state (lose my benefits) if I lost my job for an unjust reason.  I also know that at least in this state a person on welfare is an automatic hire unless they really are not qualified for the job.

Don’t get me wrong, I love both my jobs.  I am just against write-ups when you have a doctor’s note.  I absolutely refuse to work if I am vomiting.  I have no control over my sitter having an emergency nor do I have any control over the fact that I don’t drive.  Yes, I do plan to make one last attempt this year at getting my license, but I am already sure I am going to fail.  I believe jobs need to be more understanding about things like this or like an injury and your doctor orders you not to work.

I am just so frustrated right now because I believe I was not treated fairly and I believe I was given the wrong impression.  People shouldn’t have to go to work sick, yet food service workers like myself often do just that, because of arbitrary rules and fear of job loss.  Remember that the next time you go out to eat.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

