SOMEDAY I AM GOING TO HAVE A HOUSE

WE ALL DESERVE A DECENT HOME

I am in the process of getting on the wait list to get a home through Habitat for Humanity, specifically Iowa Heartland Habitat for Humanity.  Habitat helps low income people by building them safe, affordable homes.  You have to help build your home, something known as “sweat equity”, and the payments are based on your income.  Learn more by going to these websites;

http://www.habitat.org/

http://www.heartlandhfh.org/

Now don’t get me wrong.  I love my apartment.  It is neat and clean and it is a fairly good sized place.  It is subsidized housing, which means my rent is based on 30% of my income, and my utilities are either fully or partial paid (depending on what it is) by the government.  My cable is even cheap.  I can’t beat $9.00 a month for 90 channels.  It is nice being in a place where not all my money goes to rent.  It should be like that for every kind of housing; unfortunately many landlords are greedy.

However much I love my apartment, I want a house.  I got a Section 8 voucher about a year ago to get a house that way, but it is hard to find a landlord that will take it.  With Habitat, my mortgage will still be affordable to me, and the house will be MINE.  No more feeling like I have no freedom, no more rules, and I will get to have a yard.  Everyone deserves a yard.

We all deserve a decent home.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

