ZOOS SHOULD BECOME SANCTUARIES

ZOOS SHOULD BE TURNED INTO SANCTUARIES

I am against zoos. I think they should be turned into sanctuaries. Yes, I have been to zoos. Yes, I recently took my daughter to a petting zoo. However, I stand by the idea that zoos need to be turned into sanctuaries.

I am certainly for the saving of wild species.  However, I don’t see how constantly exposing an animal to the public and keeping it in a small cage will save the other animals who are still in the wild.  Yes, zoos breed the animals, which creates more of them so if they are endangered I guess that is good.  However, those animals can’t be released back into the wild.  Also, babies generate money for zoos.  That is incentive enough not to release them.  This doesn’t even touch on what can happen to the older animals, everything from being fed to a predator, to being sold to a roadside zoo.

Instead of imprisoning and breeding animals in zoos, we need to focus on saving their habitat.  On protecting them in the wild.  I realize that the animals already in zoos can’t be released into the wild, but we shouldn’t breed them.  Zoos should be turned into sanctuaries.  People should only be allowed to visit if they do so as a volunteer.

This post was inspired by this segment of BBC Earth’s Tigers About the House.  While I find what the Australia Zoo is trying to do to save tigers to be wonderful, I also find the whole situation to be sad.  Baby tigers being hand raised by humans.  Having to be introduced to adult tigers, including a female who has never been near cubs but who is it obvious likes the babies.  The whole situation isn’t ideal, and we have poachers to thank for it.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

