AGING, DEATH, AND NO FEAR

WE ARE LIVING LONGER, WE ARE LIVING BETTER

I don’t fear aging. This may sound strange considering the fact that I work in a nursing home, but this has not changed the way I feel about aging. I have never really feared it. Yes, I (like many kids) went through a phase where I feared death, but aging? Not really.

My major reason for not fearing it is the fact that I take fairly good care of myself. I don’t smoke tobacco. I don’t drink alcohol. I don’t eat meat. I eat very little dairy, eggs, and honey. You could probably say I am 80% vegan. I walk and even if I did have a car would only use it for emergencies. I am getting a bike soon, which will allow me to go further distances, which will add to my general overall health. I keep busy but not too busy. I also love to read and learn, which is exercise for the brain. I don’t see myself being any different at 90 than I am now, at nearly 40.

I also don’t fear it because of the true nature of aging. Yes, some older people become ill and end up in long-term care. However, the vast majority of us will live out our years in our own homes. Some of us will struggle with disease; many of us will not.   Aging has also changed. We now know more about how to care for ourselves, so not only are we living longer, we are living better. People are going to college when they are older. People are starting new careers after retirement.   People are traveling. The possibilities are endless.

Even long-term care has changed, because of people living longer.   There are more options. There is more of a home-like atmosphere. Indeed, more independence for people and more say in your own care. One should not fear needing help.

One should also not fear dying, nor should anyone be made to feel they have to be in pain because the medical establishment has been taught to save a life at all costs, even when there is no hope left. This is why I support choice at the end of life, including medical aid in dying. Yes, we should all live a natural, healthy life. That stops when you are being kept alive when there is no hope. We can offer euthanasia to our dying pets; it shouldn’t be any different for people.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

1 thought on “AGING, DEATH, AND NO FEAR”

  1. Dairy. Full of artery clogging saturated fat and cholesterol. Also know to turn on and turn off cancer growth. If your goal is to hit your 90’s, it will be greatly reduced by consuming these things.

    Also, don’t not in any way refer to yourself as a vegan. There are no 80% vegans. You either are or you aren’t. A more fitting definition is that you follow a plant prominent diet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

