PRIDE

I AM GRATEFUL EVERYDAY

A few words, as the month of Pride nears its end.

I am grateful everyday that the world has changed as much as it has.  Thank God I live in Iowa, where people have open minds.  I am so proud to come from a state that was one of the first to pass marriage equality.

To my former employers in Florida who terminated me because of my sexuality, and then had me blackballed so I can never work in Florida again.  Do you really think I am done with you? Ever heard keep your friends close and your enemies closer? Yes, I know what you did to me was and still is completely legal in Florida.  That doesn’t mean I won’t spend every day for the rest of my life getting revenge.  A poor review here, a complaint there.  I guess you shouldn’t have screwed me over, but then again you don’t know any better…rednecks that you are.

I would also like to take this moment to say fuck off to any of my family members that think I can’t be gay and be Christian.  My church accepts me.  I wonder if yours does, considering the fact that you must use hate to spread the so-called biblical teachings.  Considering the fact that we have Jewish ancestry, maybe you should ask yourself where all the self-hate really started?

 

 

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

