PETER SINGER

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MR. SINGER

Today is philosopher Peter Singer’s 70th birthday.  Peter Singer wrote “Animal Liberation”, which is considered to be the Bible of the modern animal rights movement.  Published in 1975, it has become required reading for animal rights activists.  I have read it three times.

http://www.animalcharityevaluators.org/blog/happy-birthday-peter-singer/

Peter Singer influenced Ingrid Newkirk to start PETA in 1981.  I have been a member of PETA since 1991.  My work with PETA influenced me to read “Animal Liberation”.  It also influenced me to expand my activism to animal welfare/rescue and human rights.  This lead me to join Amnesty International in 2001 and Best Friends Animal Society in 2008.  I am a proud member and always will be of all three of my charities, and I would like to think Mr.  Singer had a hand in that.

I recommend “Animal Liberation” to anyone who is interested in animal rights.  It looks at things from an intelligent point of view.  Happy birthday, Mr.  Singer.  The world is truly a better place because of you.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

