NATIONAL NUDE DAY

WE ALL LOOK BETTER NAKED

It is National Nude Day.  I want to take this opportunity to say a few words about nudity, animal rights, and particularly PETA and their “I’d Rather Go Naked” campaigns.

I would like to know who created this holiday.  As much as I enjoy body-confidence, it seems like we have holidays for everything now.  I am not sure if this means we are having fun or if the world has become so depressing we need to create holidays to get away from it.  My vote is on the latter.  I also want to know how you would celebrate National Nude Day? Naked funfetti cake and adult pin the tail on the donkey?

People sometimes get up in arms when PETA uses nudity to further animal rights.  I am a feminist and find body-positivism important, so I find it odd that PETA’s; “I’d Rather Go Naked Than Wear Fur” campaign has attracted the wrath of feminists who claim it is sexist and exploitative.  They seem to forget men appear in the ads too.  They forget that none of the women were forced to pose.  They seem to forget that Taraji P. Hensen is hot and should be naked anyway.

TrajiPETAad72

They also seem to forget the true message.  The only animal that looks good in a fur coat is the animal originally wearing it.  We all definitely look better naked than we do draped with the skin of a corpse.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

