WE ALL HAVE TO HAVE ONE

THIS IS WHY I’M PROUD TO BE ON MEDICAID

I am of course talking about a yearly physical.  Mine is coming up in two weeks.  I am in good health-with the exception of having bad periods-so I don’t really worry about anything bad being found.  I don’t like having blood work done, but it is over fast.  The worst part for me in the pelvic exam.  Not that it hurts, it is just not a good feeling.

There are two things I am going to talk with my doctor about this year.  First, my periods have gotten strange.  Last month it was two days late.  This month it is eight days early.  This most likely has to do with my age (I’m 39), the fact that I started a new job that is more physically demanding, and maybe my endometriosis.  It is best to have these things checked out, although my guess is that it is most likely periomenopause.

The other thing I am going to do is ask her for a skin check.  Everyone should have one.  I always wear sunscreen, but that doesn’t mean I couldn’t get skin cancer.  Any suspicious mole should be removed.  This is just common sense.  I had a friend die of skin cancer.

One of the keys to a long life is access to medical care.  Going to the doctor is a right, not a privilege.  This is why I’m proud to be on Medicaid.  It means that even though I am poor, I will have as much of a shot at living to a healthy 1oo as anyone else.

Author: Stacie M Stark

Activist with 25 years of experience in human and animal rights and welfare. Specializing in children's rights and issues, LGBT rights, and companion animal welfare and rights. Member and always will be of Amnesty International, Best Friends Animal Society, and PETA. Mom, queer, vegetarian. Hello Kitty and Disney Princess collector. Cat lover. Sagwa fan. I want to live at the public library.

Leave a Reply

